S. Petersburg

S. Petersburg Saint Petersburg is located in the North West of Russia, on the delta of the river Neva at the east end of the Gulf of Finland on the Baltic Sea. It was formerly known as Leningrad (1924–1991) and Petrograd (1914–1924). Founded by Tsar Peter the Great in 1703 as a "window to Europe", it served as the capital of the Russian Empire (the capital was moved to Moscow after the Russian Revolution). Today it is Russia's second-largest city, Europe's fourth largest city, a major European cultural centre, and the most important Russian port on the Baltic. The city centre is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

♣ Interesting links:
Exploring Russia: St. Petersburg ~ Geographia.com


Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict Valid CSS!